52-Week Blog Challenge: The Music of My Heart

Hi, everyone!  Sorry, I haven’t posted in awhile, but I’ve had some medical issues (that can be addressed) coupled with anxiety.  Those two go hand-in-hand and making writing less than easy.  So I took the time to unplug for self-care.  

As you may know…

The  52-Week Blog Challenge was started by Britts Daily Dose & Sit Back And Just Live. I’m enjoying the challenge as a way to get myself into blogging consistently and it’s fun!  If you want to participate you can too!  All you need to do is 1. post the banner at the top of the post and 2. link both of their blogs in your post!  

 

52-week-blog-challenge-guide.png

52-Week Blog Challenge

The music of my heart…  I chose a few songs that always make me feel something special when I hear them.  Music offers a great way to practice self-care in lifting our moods and promoting relaxation.  Music unites, holds memories, and enhances moods.  

Whether writing, walking or driving music accompanies many of us.  As I’ve gotten older I’ve gravitated toward relaxing music.  My nerves simply aren’t as tolerant, but if I hear the music I grew up with, I’m all ears!

music-playlist-of-my-heart1-min.png

The music of my heart is infinite.  The music selected below is eclectic, random, and popped into my head quickly, no rhyme (pun intended) or reason, for the emotions and memories they evoke.  

inspiring-music-phillipsWhen I need to feel at peace and cheerful, I like listening to Phillip Phillips Home and Gone, Gone, Gone from the album The World From The Side Of The Moon.   As someone who suffers from anxiety, it’s the kind of extra boost I need.

Hearing those songs readily makes me happy.  Happy like when I just a young girl in the 70s listening to songs about putting flowers in your hair.  And also because I miss home! 

                                                 If you’re willing to throw it back further, I would go to Neneh Cherry’s Buffalo Stance. What is a buffalo stance? 220px-neneh_cherry_raw_like_sushi_cover 

According to Urban Dictionary, it means to stand with your arms tightly crossed looking over to the side at somebody. This comes from the pose struck by Bruce Smith of the Buffalo Bills in the late 1980’s.The song came out in 1989 on Cherry’s album Raw Like Sushi.  

Why is this the music of my heart?  It was released just before the end of my junior year in high school.  My best friend introduced me to it when we were road tripping to the metropolis of Des Moines to go shopping.  In a nutshell:  We were young, skinny or skinnier than we thought we were, spring had sprung, and as everyone at that age, we felt invincible!

                                           For music of my heart to inspire writing, I turn to my favorite female artist, Steve Nicks. She writes some of the most enchanting lyrics. images

Filled with heartfelt emotion, I can’t help but be inspired to write when I listen to her music especially songs like If Anyone Falls In Love or Rooms Are All On Fire.  If you haven’t listened to her box set, Enchanted, you really should.  Now I’m going to throw it way back to a couple of songs my late grandma and I used to sing while on drives in the country.  They’re from the early 70s, and although far from vogue, whenever I hear them I’m transported.  

I can feel the wind coming in through the windows as I sit beside Grandma without a seatbelt singing our hearts out without a care in the world.  Fittingly, one song is Take Me Home, Country Roads by the late John Denver.  The other is Rhinestone Cowboy by Glen Campbell who now sadly suffers from Alzheimer’s. 

Music-heart-therapy

Music Playlist – Music of My Heart

I  could go on and on listing songs that touch a chord whenever I hear them, but by far, the music of my heart is the sound of children laughing and playing outside.  It’s the sound of youth and freedom.  A reminder of a long-distant memory of our innocence.  

Or the sound of laughter of family and friends.  To live is to know struggle and strife making all the more precious the sound of joy from those we hold close to heart.  

Whether big or small, the sounds of nature including the rolling of waves crashing to birds singing their songs, make my heart happy and soothe my mind.  

What is the music of your heart?  

To follow Sweetsnsnarks on Instagram:  @sweetsnsnarks

For more of the 52-Week Blog Challenge Posts:

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

Also, check out 6 Ways To Explore Creativity!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “52-Week Blog Challenge: The Music of My Heart

  1. Let me bust out my leopard skates for Buffalo Stance. Not for nothing but that’s still a great jam. Love! I love Stevie too, one of my pipsqueaks is named Rhiannon. I adore music so much I’ve named my pets after songs since I was a little girl. For example my dog was named Lola two years before Madonna named her kid Lola, because I like to be at the tip of the spearhead!
    I have music on all day, I’m all about solo dance parties, today I listened to crust punk rock, yesterday and I kid you not, Gordon Lightfoot. I’m all about diversity!
    If I have to pick individual songs, I have one standing fav and my top is Pantera Hostile. 85% of the time I have on a Pantera tank or tee. They were raw, heavy and Anselmo’s lyrics were absolutely poetic yet delivered like a good throat punch. Pure love.
    LeAnn this post rocks the only thing missing is Bret Michaels – XO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eva, I knew you would miss him in this post, but you know he’s in my heart. lol. Buffalo Stance is such a great jam – how can you not feel sassy after listening to it?!

      Stevie is divine! I’m so glad I had the chance to see her perform a few years ago near Minneapolis.
      I love that you name your pets after songs. I can relate in that I named one of my dogs Scout after my favorite fictional character. As it turned out, the name suited her to a “T”.
      I’m diverse in musical taste, but need to step up my game in the solo dance party category. And yest I took dancing for years…wth?!
      Bret Michaels nearly made an appearance on this list, but I needed to switch things up a bit and surprise you. lol
      Love you lady and thanks for commenting! xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

