6 Ways To Explore Creativity​

Creativity in social media has exploded!  Initially, many saw social media as a way to connect with friends and family – especially those friends and families who either moved away or had grown apart.  However, it is a powerful tool for bringing creativity to the forefront.

6-tips-explore-creativity

As many keep up with current events, it stands to reason that many are turning to Instagram (among other sites) to look at beautiful photos by photographers, writers, painters, sculptors, jewelry makers, and paper crafters.  

Whether immersing yourself hands-on in creativity, starting a small biz, and/or taking a look at the work of others, creativity allows you to dream.

“Dreams pass into the reality of action. From the actions stems the dream again; and this interdependence produces the highest form of living.” Anais Nin  

What Is Creativity?

  • Creativity is a palette cleanser for everyday life – In this high-speed WiFi age, information is brought to us 24-7 at our fingertips.  It’s hard to escape headlines and trending topics.  
  • Creativity is freeing your spirit – Connecting with your own intuition, thoughts, and/or emotions.
  • Creativity is reshaping, transforming, and repurposing – There are some things we cannot change: Responsibilities, deadlines, and rules.  Creativity allows us to be in charge of given materials and moments to reshape, in a variety of pursuits, whether crafting, gardening, the way we work, etc.

  • Creativity is hands on dreaming – Most everyone has a dream of some kind. Whether a deep-seated desire or a random daydream, both can ignite one’s creativity which in turn sparks more dreams. 
  • Creativity is making time for yourself – You aren’t meant to operate like machines, but to learn and grow.  Take a bit of time during your busy week for yourself.  To play, to laugh, to learn something new. 

“Creativity is a great motivator because it makes people interested in what they are doing.  Creativity gives hope that there can be a worthwhile idea.  Creativity gives the possibility of some sort of achievement to everyone.  Creativity makes life more fun and more interesting.”  Edward De Bono

Creativity-Sweetsnsnarks-LeAnn-

Explore Your Creativity

In treating yourself to a bit of creativity, you are freeing yourself from constraints to explore the world in a different light.

Ways To Facilitate Creativity

  • Find a new medium to utilize –  Instead of typing at a computer, I have wanted to explore acrylic painting.  The last time I was around acrylic paint was likely to dabble or maybe as far back as when I first learned to tie my shoe.  It’s high time to try something more.
  • Take a class – There are numerous classes offered by businesses and museums including painting, cut glass sun catchers, etc.  Sign up for one!  You may find your next hobby or added artwork for your business.  
  • Share your projects on a blog post – If your creativity to step out of your comfort zone, to learn a new skill, or for the whimsy of it – Share it!!  Learning about something fun and inspiring never goes out of style.
  • Try a new spin on a creative activity you enjoyed as a kid – Remember those art classes you took at school or the local museum when you were a kid?  Was there a particular subject you wish to increase your knowledge base to write about with your own unique flair?  Explore those ideas further and compare/contrast what it was like then vs. now.
  • Take photos (in a unique way) to document your creative process – Whether you choose to add it to your blog or not, take photos to document the creative process. This will allow you to look back to remember the fun of using your creativity from start to finish.  
  • Keep a creativity journal – A journal filled with your creative bucket list and your experiences trying them will not only be an uplifting reminder but will further spur your creativity.  Soon you will be adding more things to the list you never imagined.

Find out what works for you as well as what pushes you to think outside the box to try something new.  The beauty of creativity is that there is no right way to do it.  Creativity is as uniquely individual.  Give it a try!  The world wants to see what you have up your sleeves!

If you would like to read about artists and their artwork in the Series – Creatives Corner: Behind The Scenes, click here and here.  To follow Sweetsnsnarks on Instagram click here.

Please feel free to share on social media!

If you are an artist or other creative, I would love to feature you on the blog.  Leave a comment below to connect!  I want to hear from you!

45 thoughts on “6 Ways To Explore Creativity​

  1. I love these ideas! I find taking photos and sharing on my blog a great way of sharing creativity! I also find reading other blogs and pinterest are both inspirational ways to get me to be creative! 🙂 I love your journal idea!! Great post, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sarah, we definitely share the same creative inspiration (photos, blogging, and reading other blogs). Thank you for reaching out with a comment. I would love to know how you end up using journaling to inspire your own creativity! Feel free to use this blog post as a back link and I would be happy to share your blog posts as well. Have a fabulous evening!

      Like

  2. For about two months I did this thing where before 9am and after 9pm I refused to go online. i would work on brainstorming or doing a creative ritual such as writing by hand, sketching, making a tarot deck by scratch or coloring! This actually made my mornings so relaxing. Lately i’ve been stressed maybe I should pick up the habit again. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ash – That sounds like a great way to schedule time each day to be intentional about getting offline and promote creativity. There are many days I find shoulder and neck pain from being on the computer too much as well as eye strain. Love getting your input and thanks for leaving a comment. Hope you will stop by the blog again. Let me know how it works out for you! 🙂

      Like

  3. Creativity is so important and often stiffled by the way our society works so posts like this are important as they help people attempt to explore their creativity.
    I always thought I wasn’t artistic/creative until 11 years ago when I found the medium that allowed me to explore my creativity. I think everyone is creative and should explore it as it is good for them but often they have had words said to them that make them think they aren’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Raelene – I so agree! I believe that we are all creative in some aspect and need to allow ourselves to explore various mediums until we find what fits us. Society may try to stifle creativity, but doing so only stifles ourselves. I am so happy this post resonated with you! Hope you stop by the blog again soon! xoxo

      Like

  4. I love this. Creativity is a huge outlet for me, I like some of your ideas here to branch out with. I’ve been trying to blog my more often, and it’s a great way to share it! Awesome article 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Kathryn! If I don’t get out and find beauty in nature or take in pretty areas around where I live, I feel suffocated by all the stress life throws our way. A little bit of creativity does go long way especially when you can take an everyday moment and see it through a creative lens. So glad you liked this blog post. Hope to see you again. xoxo

      Like

  5. Pingback: Trusting Your Journey: 5 Tips For The Evolving Blogger | SWEETSNSNARKS BY LeANN

  6. I really do think I need to explore a new medium. I think it will spark creativity in a whole new way. I love the idea of a creativity journal. Very inspiring and helpful post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s easy to feel like you’ve fallen into a creativity rut. Often times it only takes stepping out of one’s comfort zone and an idea will spark! I know I’ve dabbled in many different creative outlets and have learned something from each one. Keep me posted on what you decide to try and how it helped you! Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  7. I love this post and it is so helpful! I already do a couple of the things mention like keeping a journal but I will definitely try out the rest of the list. I agree with the photography mention and that’s something I can try even this week! Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. There are some wonderful quotes in here! This resonated most with me: “Creativity is making time for yourself – You aren’t meant to operate like machines, but to learn and grow.” I’m a writer, so my work requires a ton of creativity & innovation – but the most miserable jobs for me have been those that have pressed all of my free time out of my schedule until I was just taking shortcuts and copying past projects over and over. Without space to think and try new things, there is no creativity. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t agree with you more! While I like the sense of accomplishment with a job well done, if I’m not able to take the time to be creative and write, pick up my camera, scrapbook, or even learn about art, I find myself feeling mechanical. If there isn’t room to learn and grow we are stagnant and where is the joy in that. Thank you so much for commenting!

      Like

  9. LeAnn, it’s funny… I have been thinking about ways to make blogging more fun so that it feels less like work and I took a bit of time to think about what I was really good at & passionate about. I will be releasing a new venture soon that will not only enhance my blogging through creativity but allow me to enjoy it even more. Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yami, that’s awesome. Congratulations on your new venture! It must be a very exciting time for you. I am working out a few things myself, but something that has helped to make blogging fun is the 52-week blog challenge I decided to try. I look forward to learning more about your new venture and thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. These are all great ways to explore creativity. I really want to share more DIY projects on my blog this year so that’s a great idea. I’ve also been thinking more about taking classes at our local craft stores and even more wine and paint nights!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: 52-Week Blog Challenge: The Music of My Heart | SWEETSNSNARKS.WORDPRESS.COM

  12. Pingback: 52-Week Blog Challenge: Social Media Phenomenon and Instagram Tips | SWEETSNSNARKS.WORDPRESS.COM

Leave a Reply

