Creatives Corner: Behind The Scenes

Creativity has always been something I am drawn to.  Whether it is artwork, music, writing, or crafting – I have a deep admiration for those who create.

Elle-and-Kay-Abstract-Artist

Laura Fedorowicz, Artist Behind Elle and Kay Collection

In Creatives Corner Behind the Scenes, I will be featuring creatives, bloggers, and entrepreneurs.  Let’s get to know more behind gorgeous images on Instagram. 

To kick off Creatives Corner is Elle and Kay Collection’s Laura Fedorowicz!  To find Laura on Instagram click here. You can find Laura’s artwork at DENY Designs here, Etsy here, Hedoe Paper here

I had the pleasure of getting know Laura through Small Talk Social’s Instagram challenge, The Gram Gang.  You can find out more about The Gram Gang here.  

Laura’s artwork incorporates bright colors that pop on the white canvas.  Her work is uplifting, energizing, and inspiring.  It gets better: This talented lady has a heart of 100% gold!  

Creative-Corner-Behind-Scenes-Sweetsnsnarks

She describes her work as “enthusiastically vibrant”.  That is also how I would describe Laura.  Her energy is contagious. Her wit and sweetness serve her well. Yet the perhaps what makes Laura the bee’s knees is her authenticity and compassionate heart.

How did you discover your niche?

I have always been artistic and my love for art and creating is deeply ingrained in me.  I knew I loved art before I even knew who I was.  I started sharing my art on Instagram when I came across @myfriendcourt’s monthly challenges.  I had just started creating again after an almost 10-year hiatus and felt like keeping up with the monthly challenge would help me get my creative juices flowing.  

What I didn’t realize is the community of artists that were on Instagram and how supportive they were to other artists.  I remember posting my first picture, and not even using hashtags, and not thinking anyone would see it nor like it.  It was a visual album intended for me.

13422869_978841495564234_458522694_n

Did you always have an idea of what you wanted to do?

I have always dreamt of being an Interior Designer.  I can remember redesigning and reorganizing my room time and time again.  I remember trips to the paint store/art store with my mom.  At 8 years old, my magazine of choice were home decor magazines.  I spent hours going through the pages and ear-marking things I liked (oh…the days without Pinterest!!!)  

I went to school at OCAD University for Environmental Design, but to be honest I didn’t give it my all.  I was too shy and too scared of rejection to really put myself out there.  I have designed for a few clients now in my immediate family or friends group, but for the most part, I stick to my own home and my own art.  I still dream of having my own Interior Design Business “when I grow up” but for now, I am so happy working in the art and design world.

Creative-Entrepreneur

What about your craft sets you apart?

I think what sets me apart is my love and affinity for bright colors and paintings full of energy. While this is not everyone’s cup of tea, and probably in a way limits my client pool I am staying to true to what makes my heart happy. I adore painting florals but for the most part, my heart sings in abstract and so that is where I am currently. 

Who inspires you creatively?  Who makes you think, “they just get me?   

Oh! Good question. I’ve got so many!  
@molluskgirl
@nikkicadestudio@little.lief.creative@eva_alessandria and @b.ethanygrace @brynnjames and @melissamaryjenkinsart are featured respectively below:

Other Favorites: @_brittbass and @leslidevit.

Being a creative entrepreneur, what have you learned the most about yourself and about freelancing that you feel is important to share with others?

I think the thing that has been the biggest learning curve and hurdle to being a creative entrepreneur is that you must first believe in yourself before others will believe in you. To this day, I have SUCH a hard time posting promotional images, or “sales pitches”. I’ve got a great deal of different products available that I am so proud of, but I always feel so uncomfortable pushing them on followers on Instagram, or advertising them to my friends or family.

 

Creative-Corner-Laura

Paper Goods Featuring Elle and Kay Collection – @hedoepaper

However, I am learning and working on understanding, that for this line of work to be profitable, and for my business to grow I will have to come to a certain level of familiarity with showing what I do, and offering this information up to others. In order for others to discover me, and want to work with me, and buy my product (thus making me profitable) I can’t be scared of sharing my work and my voice. Hey…we’re all a work in progress right? An entrepreneur that is uncomfortable promoting herself? Let’s see how this turns out!! 🙂

What has been your biggest challenge with your creative endeavors and how did you overcome them?

It can be a struggle finding your creative voice when you first start out or at different times during your career. (There are so much talented and creative artists out there already) What will your style be? How will you stand out from the crowd? Will you stick to using bright colors, or will you work in neutral? Keeping the momentum going can be difficult, and it is important to realize that experimenting and trying out different things is the best part of the creative journey. Lots of artists feel they have to have a specific and well ironed out style…I have come to accept that my style, is whatever I feel like creating in that moment. Who knows where this journey will take me, I’m just along for the ride!!

How do you find work/life balance when you are feeling overwhelmed? 

I remind myself that my family will always come first. The reason I am able to work on my creative career is because my husband goes to work each and every day and works hard to provide for me and our little girl. The reason I am able to paint during nap time is because Matt and I have a beautiful little girl who means the world to both of us. If there is a day where I do not paint, that’s going to have to be ok because those other things come first.

Creative-Entrepreneur-Interview

Elle and Kay Collection Inspired Cell Phone Cases –  @casetify

It takes a while getting used to it, as I can get wrapped up in the “hustle” of it all. We all see #girlboss’ “hustling hard” every day. My “hustle” has to include rest(for my body and my fibromyalgia) and my family, because, without those things, my creativity will not be possible. 

Typically I will try and disconnect for the day from my social media accounts and shops and soak in some nature. Read a great book, cuddle with my family and my pups, and try again when I am rested. 

What is a typical day in the life of like?

A day in the life. I “try” and get a few minutes of quiet in before the little one wakes. Depending on her schedule this isn’t always possible. My day starts with coffee and Kenley cuddles. I check my social media accounts after some family time and respond to comments.

During the morning I plan out my day- what errands need to be run, which creative project will be the top priority. I make lunch and Kenley heads for a nap around 11. During nap time is when all painting, photography, uploading, editing etc takes place. It’s usually a busy time of my day because I never know just how much time I will have to accomplish my goals.

Afternoons are for errands, playing outside and going on walks. At around 4 we start to clean up and dinner and walk to the train to pick up daddy for 6. The evening is spent having dinner and playing as a family. My energy is usually spent by 7 or 8 pm and I am often in bed by 9. There is no work time hustle in the evening unless I’ve got a very specific or pressing deadline to make. I am a girl who needs her sleep, and I am ok with that!

“How amazing that art, and color can create such a bond, and a drive.  I mean I always knew it, but here it is – full proof!”  – Laura speaks of her tribe.

Note:  If you are hooked on Laura’s enthusiastically vibrant, cheery pieces visit her on Instagram here or via links provided above.  Give the girl some love!  You won’t be sorry you did!  

If you would like to be featured on Creatives Corner: Behind the Scenes email me at sweetsnsnarks@gmail.com. I would love to hear from you!

 

9 thoughts on “Creatives Corner: Behind The Scenes

  1. What a fantastic interview and those colors… 😍. Definitely gave her a follow on Instagram 🙂 I love the part of having a hard time selling and also just going with the flow on what feels good and putting that out there. I can certainly relate and it’s a comfort knowing others have a similar inner battle. Thanks for sharing LeAnn and Laura!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tishana – Thank you for your sweet words! I just finished reading Big Magic and that idea of creating, whatever it may be for each person, is important to being true to ourselves. Putting it out there isn’t easy, but when they do, it is inspiring. Finding our community is a great comfort! Thank you for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  2. Awesome LeAnn. Thank you for what you are doing for the art community and our tribe. Laura really is the bees knees. I adored reading about her insights and I couldn’t encourage others any more strongly to pop over and meet her. She is a true gem in the art community and I am proud and honored to know her and call her my friend. XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Creatives Corner by LeAnn: Behind The Scenes With Brynn James | SWEETSNSNARKS BY LeANN

Leave a Reply

